RSS

Book: Mindfulness for Dummies

28 Sep

This book is very useful to me. Thanks Fan Xie’ recommendation. I will continue this post with my reading progress.

Here, I just want to excerpt some points I think it is very important to me:

1 Mindfulness can improve productivity.

To be mindful, you usually need to do one thing at a time. When walking, you just walk. When listening, you just listen. When writing, you just write. By practicing formal and informal meditation, you are training your brain. You are training it to pay attention with mindful attitudes like kindness, curiosity and acknowledgement.

You can train attention, just as you can train your biceps in a gym. Meditation is gym for the mind.

2 Overcoming Challenges

  You are running to achieve goals so that you can be peaceful and happy, but actually you are running away from the peace and happiness. Mindfulness is an invitation to stop running and rest.

3 Calming the Mind

  If you are anxious, you may just block your understanding. A martial arts student went to his teacher and said earnestly, “I’m devoted to studying your martial system. How long will it take me to master it?” The teacher’s reply was casual, ‘Ten years.’ Impatiently, the student answered, “But I want to master it faster than that. I’ll work very hard. I’ll practise every day, ten or more hours a day if I have to. How long will it take then?” The teacher thought for a moment and replied, “Twenty years.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in book, Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
